Our community has a rich military tradition from the North Dakota National Guard’s 164th Infantry dating back to 1885, the Grand Forks Air Force Base dating back to the 1950’s and the thousands of community members who have served or are serving honorably in the military service branches throughout the world.

The Veterans Memorial Park will have a Black Granite Wall 6 feet high and 40 feet long with images laser-etched into the granite describing the role of American veterans from the first wars and conflicts to the present, to include the latest equipment.

Veterans, military members, their families and friends will have a sense of pride in knowing the community cares, honors, and respects the veterans’ sacrifices.

The Veterans Memorial Park vision began with a veteran named Roger Westerso. Roger envisioned a park with a wall and various sculptures complemented by pillars representing all five branches of the military. A portion of his artwork was added to a Harley Davidson chopper, dedicated as the “Veterans Memorial Bike”. Don Purpur and John Hanson met at a Red River Valley Motorcyclists Show in 2010 where the Veterans Memorial Bike was on display.

They began a discussion on the importance of dedicating a Veterans Memorial Park in our community. This led to establishing a formal group dedicated to advancing this idea. Energized by veterans, local community members and veteran organizations, the vision gained momentum and the future location was secured.

Prominent support of the Grand Forks Park District, Grand Forks Parks & Rec Foundation, the Red River Valley Motorcyclists, the City of Grand Forks, veteran organizations and a number of local veterans will bring this vision into existence.


Board of Directors

Chair-Al Palmer
Vice-Chair-Tom Saddler
Treasurer-Bobby Beauchamp
Secretary-Keith Trzynka
Fundraiser-Gary Shields

Board of directors
Serving three year terms:
Larry Holweger
James Groven
John Hanson
Don Purpur

Serving two year terms:
Dennis Heap
Stephen Benson
Lou Lombardi
Mike Hagen

Serving one year and up for election in June:
Dusty Hillebrand
Roy Fillion
Joel Medd
Kyle Slivnik